Legen- (wait for it) -dary! Banana bread

 

You know what that means.

You know what that means.

Banana bread is one of my very favorite things to bake. I use Betty Crocker’s recipe from a pretty old cookbook, but I’ve made a few loving changes over the years. the biggest one is I doubled the number of bananas so it has a lot of banana flavor and it’s much moister. The recipe’s amazing because you literally throw everything in a bowl and mix. And I’m going to share them with you.

Ingredients: 

2 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour

1/2 cup of granulated sugar

1/2 cup of brown sugar (always pack it)

3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons vegetable oil

1 cup milk

1 egg

A dash of cinnamon

4 overripe bananas (if you use three, add another 1/2 cup of milk)

Directions: 

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2. This is the best part: put everything except the bananas in a big bowl (or mixer) and mix until it’s combined.

It should look like this when it's mixed enough -- pretty thick, almost like cookie dough.

It should look like this when it’s mixed enough — pretty thick, almost like cookie dough.

3. In a separate bowl, mash the peeled bananas with a fork. Leave a few lumps so you get big banana bites in the bread

4. Add the bananas to the mixture and mix until it’s all combined

I'm always surprised how the batter liquidizes after you add the bananas.

I’m always surprised how the batter liquidizes after you add the bananas.

5. Grease the bottom of either two smaller loaf pans or one giant one like I got for $1 (fist pump)

6. Set the timer for 55 minutes to start (it’ll cook faster if you have 2 small pans)

7. Wait un-patiently.

8. It’ll feel like it’s been forever, and then the kitchen will slowly start to smell like banana bread…you’re getting close.

9. When the timer goes off, check the bread with a toothpick. If it comes out clean, you get a prize! If it doesn’t, keeping checking at 3-5 minute intervals

10. When it comes out clean, you should be able to tap the top of the bread and it’ll feel spongy and bounce back

11. Keep waiting until it cools. I know, it’s awful.

12. You made it! Whew. So did I, so excuse me — I get to go eat this now:

2013-04-17 23.26.10

2 thoughts on “Legen- (wait for it) -dary! Banana bread

  1. Good day very nice web site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Superb ..
    I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds additionally? I am happy to find numerous useful info here in the submit, we want work out extra strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

Leave a comment